[Skip To Content]
Village of Norridge, Illinois
Winter Header
Est. 1948
708.453.0800
Thursday, March 30, 2017

Village Hall
4000 N. Olcott Avenue
Norridge, Illinois 60706-1199
(708) 453-0800
Fax (708) 453-9335
Monday - Friday:9am to 5pm
Saturday: 9am to 12 noon
Get Adobe Acrobat Reader
Site Map
Privacy Policy/
Terms and Conditions

Community Portal
Notices of foreclosures and confirmation orders should be sent to the:

Village of Norridge
Attn: Village Clerk
4000 N. Olcott Avenue
Norridge, IL 60706


Juvenile Information


1. Who is considered a juvenile? 

A juvenile is any person who is 17 years old or younger and is being charged with a misdemeanor.

 
2. Who is considered a minor?
A minor is a person under the age of 18 years old.

3. What are the legal ages for curfew, and what are the time limitations?
According to the State of Illinois and the Illinois Child Curfew Act, 720ILCS 555/1
It is unlawful for a person less then 17 years of age, (which means 16 years old or younger) to be present at or upon any public assembly, building, place, street or highway during the following times.
 

State Curfew
Weekends between 12:01 am and 6:00 am. Weekends are Friday and Saturday nights (must be in by 12:00pm)

Weekdays between 11:00 pm and 6:00 am. Sunday night thru Thursday night (must be in by 11:00 pm)


Exceptions to this law are as follows:

1. If you were 16 YOA or younger you would be allowed out past curfew if you were accompanied by and supervised by a parent, legal guardian or other responsible companion who is at least 18 YOA and is approved of by the parent or legal guardian.

2. Having a legal job that you have to travel to and from.


Penalties:
A person convicted of this offense is guilty of a petty offense and shall not be fined less then $10 or more then $500. The court can also impose community service if they deem necessary.


Norridge Curfew

Depending on the city you live in there can be different local ordinances that your city has adopted to define curfew.

  • In Norridge the differences in the law are the time limitations and ages. You must be at least 18 years old. If you are 17 or younger you must follow the curfew times for Norridge.
  • Weekday curfew, 17 or younger must be in by 10:30 pm
  • Weekend curfew, 17 or younger must be in by 11:30 pm
  • Other cities might be different so check with your Police Dept.

Can a juvenile be finger printed?
Yes, as of 2000 the law allows juveniles to be finger printed if they commit a criminal offense or for identification purposes. What this also means is that juveniles will also have permanent criminal records. In the past it was only adults that were printed and had criminal offenses put onto their permanent criminal records. Now the same applies to juveniles. It’s hard to get a job when you get older when you have a criminal record. Most employers now do check your background. In the past offenses you committed as a juvenile would never appear on your record once you were 18 years old. Now if you commit an offense where you have to be finger printed this will stay on your permanent record the rest of your life. These changes have taken place in the legal system because younger people have been committing more serious crimes and the laws had to be changed so that they would be able to deal with the more serious problems of our youth.

© 2017 Village of Norridge, Illinois. All Rights Reserved.
Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com, Inc.
The Village of Norridge Design Mark is the sole property of the Village of Norridge, and is protected under US Trademark Law. Unauthorized use of the trademark is prohibited